top of page

Like No Other

AM: What do you feel you can achieve in neon that you couldn’t do in another medium?

KH: I’m not sure my work would be as impactful if it was a painting or a drawing. I also think that the limitations brought on by the restrictions of what you can do to the glass can make the work more interesting.

I’m someone who can easily go over the top — but the obstacle of having to keep everything as simple as possible can lead me down a road of creating something more interesting than the piece I’d originally intended.

Where to Start

AM: Do you have any advice for an artist who wants to experiment with neon art?

KH: Take a neon workshop. There are so many happening globally right now. If you can’t find any near you, grab a group of people that are also interested and demand it at the closest neon shop you can find. Trust me, these shop owners love showing off their skills. I’ve never come across one that doesn’t. Sometimes you can’t get them to stop.

High-Key Color

Appreciate the bold color and light of neon but want to keep to the canvas? We’ve got the perfect resource: Painting Light: The Cape School Method with Camille Przewodek video download. Top artist and instructor Przewodek guides you through how to see the intensity of the colors around them and, most importantly, how to capture them in your paintings.

Comentários


bottom of page